Thou shalt not covert thou ideas  

‘I thought of it first.’
‘They stole my idea.’
 
If I have learnt anything in the past few years, it is that there is no such thing as a unique or original thought. There’s a reason why similar ideas are forever popping up. Now I do not pretend to know the exact reason why that is, I won’t even pretend to baffle you with theories, scientific or anthropologic that would explain it, but I do have my own beliefs.
 
I believe that every thought that is thought is put into the universe, available for anyone’s mind to wander upon. It’s a first come, first serve scenario. And instead of running a competitive creative race, why don’t we put our thoughts together and make something bigger than ourselves?
 
The first step? Don’t be precious about your ideas.
The second step? Don’t be a douche.
With those steps covered, I think we’d be closer to a more progressive and innovative society. If we became more obsessed with moving forwards, as opposed to getting there first, I think perhaps we’d be moving closer to that ‘world peace’ thing pageant winners are forever going on about.
 
Let’s be ‘creative communists’, sharing thoughts and ideas. Collectively moving towards a common goal. Let’s tear down creative capitalism, that will by nature always serve people’s agendas instead of people’s needs. 

Leave a Reply

